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Official Meeting: June 29, 2012 
 

1. Welcome and call to order  
2. Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance 
3. Roll Call 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

4. Formal Disciplinary Proceedings 

COMMISSION 
SEAT 

APPOINTED 
MEMBER 

STA
TUS 

SUPPORT STA
TUS 

Private EMS 
Administrator 

Mark Majors 
 

P David McCay, 
DHH Attorney 
Bureau of Legal 
Services 

P 

Public EMS 
Administrator 

Ken Rousseau P Steven Phillipe, 
BEMS 
Program Manager 

P 

EMT Paramedic & 
Instructor 

J. Doyle Dennis P Alan Lambert, 
BEMS 
Program Manager 

P 

EMT Paramedic & 
Instructor 

VACANT    

EMT Basic & 
Instructor 

VACANT    

American College 
of Emergency 
Physicians 

VACANT    

American College 
of Surgeons 

VACANT    

Louisiana State 
Medical Society 

Dr. Leslie 
Greco 

A   

American Academy 
of Pediatrics 

VACANT    

Louisiana 
Municipal 
Association & 
EMT Basic 

Michael Doiron  
A 

  

Professional 
Firefighters 
Association of 
Louisiana 

Robert “Bob” 
Brankline 

P   

Louisiana 
Emergency Nurses 
Association  

Jonathan P. 
Johnson 
 

A   
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Time  Individual Information and 
Allegation 

Violation  Disciplinary Sanction Motion 

9am 
 
 
 

John Cerniglia It is alleged 
that on 6/21/2012 he was 
booked on multiple counts 
of aggravated rape, sexual 
battery and pornography 
involving juveniles. 
 
DID NOT APPEAR 

LAC Title 46, Part 

XXXVIII §305 (A)(2) has 

a pending criminal charge 

that involves any violence 

or danger to another 

person, or involves a 

crime which constitutes a 

threat to patient care. 

  

9am 
 

Pamelyn Cook On 

8/26/1993 you were 

charged with 2 counts of 

issuing worthless checks.  

The charges were 

dismissed. 

On 2/17 1996 you were 

charged with disturbing 

the peace by fighting.  The 

charges were dismissed. 

On 12/18/1998 you were 

charged with two counts 

of obtaining CDS II by 

fraud.  You plead guilty 

on 10/29/1999 and were 

sentenced to 30 days in 

jail which was suspended 

and you were placed on 

probation for 3 years.  

You were released from 

probation on 5/1/2001. 

On 9/15/1999 you were 

arrested for theft of goods.  

You served one week in 

the parish jail and the 

charges were dismissed. 

On 8/28/2004 you were 

charged with simple 

battery.  The charges were 

nolle prosse on 

11/30/2004. 

On 7/17/2005 you were 

charged with DWI.  You 

were placed on probation 

and you provided the 

Commission with a 

document showing you 

completed probation for 

this charge. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(2) 

Is guilty of a felony or is 

convicted of a crime or 

offense which reflects the 

inability to practice EMS 

with due regard for health 

and safety of clients or 

patients or enters a plea of 

guilty or nolo contendere 

to a criminal charge 

regardless of final 

disposition of the criminal 

proceeding, including, but 

not limited to, 

expungement, non 

adjudication or pardon. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3) 

Is unfit or incompetent by 

reason of negligence, 

habit, or other cause. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(4) 

Is habitually intemperate 

in the use of or abuses 

alcohol or habit-forming 

drugs. 

Approval granted to 
take the EMT-Basic 
certification exam.  
Once certified, the 
certification will be 
suspended for a total of 
six years.  The last four 
years of the suspension 
will be probated.  
Specific evaluation: 
random drug screens. 

Motion by 
Rousseau 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 
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5. Approval of minutes: May 4, 2012 2012  - Motion to approve by Brankline 
seconded by Majors, Approved 4-0 

 
6. Discipline and Regulation of EMS Professionals/Applicants 

o Review and/or approval of Bureau of EMS activities for the period May 2, 
2012 – June 28, 2012 

 Review: The designee of the commission reviewed 58cases, of which 
47 cases were closed by correspondence without disciplinary action 

On 3/20/2009 you pled 

guilty to DWI.  You were 

sentenced to 5 months in 

jail which was suspended 

and you were placed on 

supervised probation for 1 

year. 
 
 

9am 
 

Glenn Seymour  On April 

17, 2010 was arrested for 

felony child neglect and 

possession of a schedule I 

substance.  On December 

10, 2011 you pled guilty 

to Unlawful possession of 

less than one-tenth (0.1) 

gram of cocaine and 

misdemeanor child 

neglect.  You provided 

evidence to the Bureau 

that you were placed in a 

drug court program by an 

order of the court. 
 
 
 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(2) 

Is guilty of a felony or is 

convicted of a crime or 

offense which reflects the 

inability to practice EMS 

with due regard for health 

and safety of clients or 

patients or enters a plea of 

guilty or nolo contendere 

to a criminal charge 

regardless of final 

disposition of the criminal 

proceeding, including, but 

not limited to, 

expungement, non 

adjudication or pardon. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3) 

Is unfit or incompetent by 

reason of negligence, 

habit, or other cause. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(4) 

Is habitually intemperate 

in the use of or abuses 

alcohol or habit-forming 

drugs. 

Approve certification.  
Certification will be 
suspended for 2 cycles 
and the suspension will 
be probated for 2 
cycles.  Respondent 
must appear before the 
Certification 
Commission before 
applying to enter an 
EMT-Basic course. 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 
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based upon investigation findings of fact and conclusions of law. The 
respondent satisfactorily explained that no violation of the EMS 
Practice act, or rules, or order of the Commission or Bureau 
occurred, or that the matter did not rise to the level requiring formal 
disposition at this time. 

 Review: Upon investigation, 3 cases could not be successfully 
resolved and were deferred to a formal hearing set for today. 

 Review and Approval: The designee of the commission settled 8 
cases by Consent Order offered to the individual.  
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 Individual Information and 
Allegation 

Violation  Disciplinary Sanction Motion 

 
 
 

Ronald Bush on 6/18/ 
2012 affirmed on an 
application for reinstatement 
that he practiced as an EMS 
professional without 
certification since his 
certification expired. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3)(o) 

Has violated a rule or an 

order adopted by the 

commission or the bureau, 

or a state or federal law 

relating to the practice of 

professional EMS 

R.S. 40:1232.9 (3) 

Practice as a certified 

emergency medical 

technician or certified first 

responder unless certified 

to do so under the 

provisions of this subpart 

Reprimand and fine of 
50.00 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 

 Michael Richard on 
5/9/2012 affirmed on an 
application for reinstatement 
that he practiced as an EMS 
professional without 
certification since his 
certification expired. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3)(o) 

Has violated a rule or an 

order adopted by the 

commission or the bureau, 

or a state or federal law 

relating to the practice of 

professional EMS 

R.S. 40:1232.9 (3) 

Practice as a certified 

emergency medical 

technician or certified first 

responder unless certified 

to do so under the 

provisions of this subpart 

Reprimand and fine of 
90.00 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 

 Michael Watts on 
6/6/2012 affirmed on an 
application for reinstatement 
that he practiced as an EMS 
professional without 
certification since his 
certification expired. 

 LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3)(o) 

Has violated a rule or an 

order adopted by the 

commission or the bureau, 

or a state or federal law 

relating to the practice of 

professional EMS 

R.S. 40:1232.9 (3) 

Practice as a certified 

emergency medical 

technician or certified first 

responder unless certified 

to do so under the 

provisions of this subpart 

Reprimand and fine of 
50.00 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 

 Rhett Buras on 6/14/2012 
affirmed on an application 
for reinstatement that he 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3)(o) 

Has violated a rule or an 

Reprimand and fine of 
50.00 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
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practiced as an EMS 
professional without 
certification since his 
certification expired. 

order adopted by the 

commission or the bureau, 

or a state or federal law 

relating to the practice of 

professional EMS 

R.S. 40:1232.9 (3) 

Practice as a certified 

emergency medical 

technician or certified first 

responder unless certified 

to do so under the 

provisions of this subpart 

Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 

 Michael Cannon on 
6/4/2012 affirmed on an 
application for reinstatement 
that he practiced as an EMS 
professional without 
certification since his 
certification expired. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3)(o) 

Has violated a rule or an 

order adopted by the 

commission or the bureau, 

or a state or federal law 

relating to the practice of 

professional EMS 

R.S. 40:1232.9 (3) 

Practice as a certified 

emergency medical 

technician or certified first 

responder unless certified 

to do so under the 

provisions of this subpart 

Reprimand and fine of 
50.00 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 

 Alesha Markey on 
5/28/2012 affirmed on an 
application for reinstatement 
that he practiced as an EMS 
professional without 
certification since his 
certification expired. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3)(o) 

Has violated a rule or an 

order adopted by the 

commission or the bureau, 

or a state or federal law 

relating to the practice of 

professional EMS 

R.S. 40:1232.9 (3) 

Practice as a certified 

emergency medical 

technician or certified first 

responder unless certified 

to do so under the 

provisions of this subpart 

Reprimand and fine of 
50.00 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 

 Benjamin Lege on 
4/19/2012 affirmed on an 
application for reinstatement 
that he practiced as an EMS 
professional without 
certification since his 
certification expired. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3)(o) 

Has violated a rule or an 

order adopted by the 

commission or the bureau, 

or a state or federal law 

relating to the practice of 

Reprimand and fine of 
50.00 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 
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7. Standards of out-of-hospital practice 
o First Responder use of epinephrine auto injector – no action taken, deferred 

until next meeting 
o Providing care outside of the established EMS system – no action taken 

deferred until next meeting 
 
8. Scope of practice of EMS professionals 

o SB 500 Presentation 
 

9.  Standards for educational programs 
o EMS education manual and program director workshops 

 
10.  Other Business 

o No items 
 

11. Next Official Meeting Date 
o August 10, 2012 

 
12. Adjournment – Motion by Brankline seconded by Rousseau, approved 4-0 

 

professional EMS 

R.S. 40:1232.9 (3) 

Practice as a certified 

emergency medical 

technician or certified first 

responder unless certified 

to do so under the 

provisions of this subpart 

 Rudolph Leonard on 
4/20/2012 affirmed on an 
application for reinstatement 
that he practiced as an EMS 
professional without 
certification since his 
certification expired. 

LAC Title 46 Part 

XXXVIII §503 (D)(3)(o) 

Has violated a rule or an 

order adopted by the 

commission or the bureau, 

or a state or federal law 

relating to the practice of 

professional EMS 

R.S. 40:1232.9 (3) 

Practice as a certified 

emergency medical 

technician or certified first 

responder unless certified 

to do so under the 

provisions of this subpart 

Reprimand and fine of 
50.00 

Motion by 
Majors 
seconded by 
Brankline 
 
Approved 4-
0 


